Mixed emotions

Image

So, we leave Siem Reap in just 2 days time. Having been here for 9 weeks, it has become a home away from home for us. We have met so many interesting people that have become friends over the past couple of months. We were able to get completely stuck into work and form good relationships with people. We began to know the town, know where to go and where not to go.

 

The thought of leaving is a strange one. I am feeling sad about leaving what I have come to know, and the people we have formed friendships with. But, ultimately, we are here to travel and to explore, and I am ready to get back on the road and put my life back onto my back.

This is the first time in my travelling life, that I have stayed put somewhere for longer than a week or 2. Being able to get to know a place has been a wonderful experience and Siem Reap has been a wonderful place to stop. We volunteered for 2 months and I learned more than I ever realised was possible. It was the some of the most rewarding, emotional, important and special times of my life. I learned that despite so many differences around the world, people are ultimately the same. I learned that love is the most important gift one can give to others, can do wonders, and can be shown through the simplest of things. 

Image

Image

I am so grateful for the past 2 months that, whilst leaving has left me at some what of a loss, and I will be leaving a huge chunk of my heart here in Siem Reap, I am ready for the next adventure and will look back on this period of my life with the warmest of thoughts and fondest of memories.

 Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Now, I must pack before we head to the wild, wild… East!

2 thoughts on “Mixed emotions

  1. jeremystormsky says:

    Woah! Awesome blog! Glad I stumbled upon it.
    I totally know what your talking about though. I lived Ireland this summer for two months and I remembered it didn’t seem real untill I got back home. Such a bittersweet moment. Great post thouhg and can’t wait to read about what you do next!

    • aliveandontheroad says:

      Hi there! Thank you, I’m glad you like the blog! Things might get a little more interesting on the blog front as we are setting off for new places very soon 🙂
      I imagine I will feel the same as you did, and it won’t seem like it actually happened for a while!

Leave a Reply

