Don’t you know that life starts outside your comfort zone?

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged. Quite frankly, I got a little bored of documenting what adventures we’d been having and writing the blog became a little like a chore. So I took a little break. And all of a sudden a buzz of motivation has surged through me so here I am.

It’s almost been 8 months to the day since we left home with our lives on our backs and I can happily say I’ve truly had the adventure of a lifetime. This trip has been more than I could have ever imagined and I will take so much from it, including friendships that I believe in and will always treasure. Throughout this trip I’ve had to face many fears, which for me means all the time because I’m the biggest wimp I know (odd decision to travel the world, right?). I have a silly, irrational but very real fear of bats and vomit, both of which have flown in front of my faces without me keeling over and dying. I’m terrified of flying but have successfully managed to get to New Zealand, on Malaysia Airlines one month after it ‘lost’ another plane. I am happy with my feats, however small they may seem to some.
Which made me think about life and how important it is to do things that scare you and maybe make you feel nervous, uncomfortable or any other less than nice feeling. Those feelings suck but persevere until the challenge is accomplished, no matter what that might be, then no doubt you’ll feel bloody awesome. Living in a ball of cotton wool and embracing nothing may be okay but the rewards are few and far between.

I wish more people would embrace life with the pizzaz and urgency it deserves. This doesn’t mean upping and leaving for pastures new, it can be whatever you want it to be so long as you get up and start living. There’s so many cliche things I could say but won’t because they are cliche… So instead I will say that (nearly) everyone deserves to life the life they want and that may mean finding the ability to get up and go for it because the things that are the most rewarding always require some work.

And that’s all I really have to say at the moment. Have a nice day everybody!

P.S. My dearest, oldest, best friend in the entire world has inspired this post for me, the way you have faced your most recent challenges in life have been with grace and wonderfullness. I love you.

Leave a Reply

